Skip to main content

Opinion Pieces

June 8, 2016
Opinion Pieces

The key to understanding America's social-welfare system today — and why it needs to be reformed — is not its bloated annual budget but its tendency to undermine the two most dependable routes out of poverty: work and marriage.

Issues:Pro-Life and Family IssuesBudget and Fiscal IssuesGovernment Reform
June 6, 2016
Opinion Pieces
Last week the House Judiciary Committee held its first hearing on whether to impeach Internal Revenue Service (IRS) Commissioner John Koskinen for obstructing justice, providing false testimony to Congress, disregarding Congressional subpoenas, and stonewalling a congressional investigation.
Issues:Government Reform
April 19, 2016
Opinion Pieces

In life, the sooner you get about fixing a problem, the easier it is to solve. The longer you put it off, the more dramatic and drastic measures you have to take.

The same holds true for problems facing the country. That's why a number of us conservatives in Congress oppose the current budget plan being proposed in the House of Representatives.

Issues:TaxesBudget and Fiscal Issues
February 24, 2016
Opinion Pieces

Intellectual property rights are fundamental to the type of economic growth, competition and innovation that our economy requires to thrive and to increase the standard of living for all. Strong IP rights — and patents in particular — are critical to the success of ideas and products.

Issues:Government Reform
February 2, 2016
Opinion Pieces

As a former athlete at the University of Wisconsin, I know the positive impact sports can have on a young person's development. During my high school wrestling years at Graham Local Schools in St. Paris, Ohio, my coach Ron McCunn taught his athletes many important lessons. Most important was his emphasis on discipline.

July 28, 2015
Opinion Pieces

Internal Revenue Service Commissioner John Koskinen needs to go.

Issues:TaxesGovernment Reform
July 13, 2015
Opinion Pieces

"I'm not a Democrat who believes that we can or should defend every government program, just because it's there. Like the Export-Import Bank that's become little more than a fund for corporate welfare." These are the words of Barack Obama during his 2008 presidential campaign.

Issues:Government Reform
June 10, 2015
Opinion Pieces

During the debate on the Affordable Care Act, the Obama administration made a series of statements that had a tremendous influence on the outcome of the legislation. President Obama told Americans that if they liked their healthcare plans, they could keep them. He said that if Americans liked their doctors, they could keep them. Americans were told that the Obamacare website would work.

Issues:HealthcareGovernment Reform
May 15, 2015
Opinion Pieces

American families are fed up with Washington. And they have every right to be. They see their tax dollars being given to able-bodied people who can work but won't. They see their hard-earned money being handed out to connected and powerful corporate interests. And they see a Congress that's not willing to fight for them.

Issues:TaxesBudget and Fiscal IssuesGovernment Reform
February 12, 2015
Opinion Pieces

One of the best parts of a Congressman's job is the opportunity to participate in a naturalization ceremony. I have had the honor of participating in several such events in Ohio, and I have seen the amount of time, effort and energy that goes into becoming a citizen.

Issues:ImmigrationGovernment Reform